Department of Mathematics


The Department of Mathematics was established in 1954. Right from the beginning, the dept. has striven to set high standards of teaching and learning. The Department motto is to inspire students to the world of Mathematics and  to promote them to the higher aspects of Mathematics. Also, we aim at inculcating spiritual and cultural values to the students. The undergraduate degree programme in Mathematics with Physics and Statistics as subsidiary subjects started in 1956. We follow the Choice Based Credit and Semester System of University of Kerala,Trivandrum from the academic year 2009 onwards. Apart from the UG programme in Mathematics the Department offers Mathematics as complimentary courses for Physics and Chemistry degree programmes. The department also offers a course in Operations Research for students from non-Mathematics streams as open course. Department has a well-equipped computer lab and a library consisting of a varied collection of text books for competitive exams in addition to books in Mathematics.

Smt.Leela Kumara Pillai was the first head of the department and the other eminent Professors who served our department are Smt.Mary Antony, Smt.Ragini Devi(H.O.D), Smt.Shirly Rita Luiz(H.O.D), Smt.Rita Stanley(H.O.D), Smt. Alice Thomas(HOD), Smt. Krishna. E. and Smt. Jansamma Kurian(HOD). Dr. Binitha Benny is the current Head of the Department. The Department is one of the DST-FIST identified departments of the College. Currently the staff strength of the Department is 3. The Department regularly organizes programmes to fulfill the motto of the department.


B.Sc Mathematics

Computer Lab