Department of Zoology


The Department of Zoology promotes discovery and learning at all levels of biological organization (molecular, cellular, organismal, population, community, and ecosystem) and is a DST-FIST sponsored department. Department’s integrative focus reflects the importance of strong disciplinary and interdisciplinary approaches in teaching. The department strives for excellence and synergy in our coordinated programs of teaching and service. Recognizing the essential roles of science and biology in the lives of citizens today and tomorrow, the department emphasizes biological literacy in the teaching and outreach programs. Along with the subject knowledge the department aims at inculcating spiritual and cultural values in the students. Certificate courses are offered each year to enhance the skills of students. The certificate courses are open to students of all departments. The major certificate courses offered by the department includes Introduction to Animal Cell Culture, Ornamental fish culture, Culture techniques of edible fishes, Animal Viruses, Vermiculture etc. The certificate course offered for this academic year is ‘Pollution abatement technologies and sustainable development’. One of the major milestones of the Department is the establishment of a 'Malacostracan Study Unit' which was established this year for the wider understanding of the taxonomy of marine brachypods and their scientific study.


The Department of Zoology came into existence in 1959. Prof. Marykutty George was the first head of the department. Prof. Lilly Koshy (1961-1993) took over the reins followed by Dr. Cardoza Mildred Diana, Prof. Katherine Philip, Dr. Annie Thomas and Ms. Rose Michael (Asso. Prof.). Rev. Sr. Leelamma Joseph of the department served as the eighth Principal of the College. Sr. Leelamma Joseph also served as the Provincial Superior of the Canossian congregation for the South Province. The services of Prof. Lilykutty Mathew, Prof. Tresa Anthraper, Rev Mother Teresina Prevedello and Ms.Oriel D'coutho (Asso. Prof.) during their tenure in the Department were commendable. Ms. Remya James and Ms. Febby Payva joined the department as permanent faculties in 2011 and 2012. Dr. Sabitha Thomas and Dr. Philomina Joseph joined the department in June 2022. Mettilda M. (Late), Smt. Mariamma, Shri. Joy P. M., Smt. Helen Fernandez and Smt. Mary Metilda retired as lab assistants from the Department.

At present, the Department comprises of 4 permanent faculties; Ms. Remya James (Assistant Professor and Head of the Department), Ms. Febby Payva (Assistant Professor), Dr. Sabitha Thomas (Assistant Professor), and Dr. Philomina Joseph (Assistant Professor). Smt. Salat VG serves as the lab assistant.

Social media handles of the Department of Zoology