Department of Commerce


Commerce was introduced as a subject of study at the Pre-Degree level in 1984. Smt. A. Mary Helen was appointed as teaching faculty. However, the Department of Commerce was established in the year 1989. Smt Rita Latha D’couto was appointed. An important milestone in the history of the Department was the introduction of the B. Com Degree Course in the year 1995, as a result of the untiring and proactive efforts of Rev. Sr. Dr. Annette Thottakkara, Principal. At this time, two more additions were made to the teaching faculty, Smt. Suleena V.S. and Smt. Jini Mathew. Smt. A. Mary Helen retired in March 2003, and Smt. Rita Latha D’couto assumed charge as the Head of the Department. Presently, the Department comprises 4 permanent faculty; Dr. Rita Latha D'Couto, Associate Professor and Research Guide (retired as the Principal of the college), Dr. Suleena VS, Associate Professor (Head of the Department and Research Guide), Smt. Jini Mathew (Associate Professor), Dr. Sr. Usha A A, Assistant Professor (Research guide). Ms. Pavithra D P is currently serving as the guest lecturer.

From its inception, the Department of Commerce has been active in initiating a number of innovative activities for increasing the employability and competitiveness of students, enriching their knowledge and skills in areas beyond the prescribed curriculum, promoting social and environmental activism among the students and providing value addition to their campus experiences.


B. Com

Certificate Courses

Financial Services